Waldo? More like, “Where’s Lauren?”

Wow, where have I been? My blog feels like a child that’s been neglected. So sorry.

Well, where do I begin? A lot of things have happened. A lot of good stuff and not so great stuff. There is one particular thing that I can’t tell until the times right. And trust me, it’s worth the wait, because it’s amazing.

Hmm… So let’s see, last time I posted I was working at Disneyland. Well, now I’m working at Macy’s and still employed by Disneyland. Disneyland was an amazing, I got to see numerous celebrities. I had panic attacks on a daily basis because I would get so star struck. My co-workers would usher me to the back room before a celebrity would come in, because they knew I would make a scene. Ha, wimps. Oh, I forgot to tell you what I did there. I was a hostess for one of the restaurants for one of the hotels. Anyways, working at Disneyland was awesome.

Now I’m working at Macy’s. I worked there when I was 16, so it kinda was like riding a bike. To tell you the truth, I find the job incredibly boring and I need more of a challenge. I’ll be sending my resume out soon.

Things with my boyfriend are… just amazing. He’s my best friend and partner in life. I love him so very much.

He’s a keeper.

So since this blog is supposed to be about fashion, I might as well talk about what I’ve been learning in school. The fashion class I’m taking this semester is Fashion Buying (Goal is to be a Buyer.)

[Hold on a second… sorry, the song playing on Spotify was bugging me]

Fashion Buying has been an interesting class. Up until about… now, I’ve been enjoying the class. Just last week, we started getting into the math part of the class. [Insert barfing noise] I know math is involved, but I’m horrible at it and I’m in denial that it’s important. But anyways, it is an interesting class, and I do want to pursue Fashion Buying as a career. I’ll share a few things I’ve learned this semester. [I’ll make it simple, for those of you who are not familiar with retail/fashion.]

What is Inventory?

  1. Represents the amount of money a retailer has invested in stock; all sales come from inventory
  2. Inventory as an asset has an impact on net wort
  3. To prepare financial statements retailers need to know the value of their inventory
  4. Most reliable method of finding worth: a physical inventory, actually counting
  5. To avoid many costly counts, perpetual inventory adjusts purchases and physical
  6. In theory, book inventory should always equal physical inventory
  7. Running inventory- what you think you have is reality

 

I need to get to class, so I’ll teach you more about inventory later.

Leave a comment