Flat Pattern Design.

I just got back from my Flat Pattern Design class, and can I just say… it’s HARD! Granted, you think cutting out patterns is easy. But no, my friend, I have to manipulate darts and design gored and gathered skirts from one pattern to another. To some this may sound reasonably easy, but it’s difficult for me. I’m about 90% done with my dress sloper. A sloper is the most basic of patterns, used by apparel manufacturers to style a garment (Fabrics.net). The sloper was very hard to start. First reason, I got the wrong sized pattern. Second, I has to increase the measurements so it could fit me. Fast forward to about 30 minutes ago… I finished the measurements, manipulated the darts, put it onto tag board and cut it out. All I have left to do is to put the marking down, like the Grainline and Style Number, etc. My advice, do not give up… no matter how hard something may seem.

Leave a comment